TRAIN OF THOUGHT

Monday 02 April 2012

glancing through the gap

between the seats

I see the highlighted words in the book

“what is your experience of clinical governance?”

across the aisle

another girl tests her feet

where someone else will sit

she splits her time

between applying copious layers of lipbalm

and communication with unseen friends

by strange repetitive movements

of her thumbs

the tight-lipped female announcer

alerts us to approaching danger

“please mind the gap

between the train and the platform edge”

one schoolgirl holds a mirror

for another to review her Monday coiffure

while the guard, like a gaoler

jangles his keys

as he walks the length of the train

a double-buggy

one child slung below another

vies for space with two expensive cycles

and business men with retro-fitted rucksacks

hide behind financial news

what do they see

when they glance at my face, my clothes

and watch me scribble indecipherable words

in a small black notebook?

One Response to “TRAIN OF THOUGHT”

  1. Larue Says:

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find
    this matter to be really something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!


Leave a comment