It’s been a long time …

since I read a whole book in one day. It’s not quite 3pm and I’ve just finished page 126 of THE BOOK OF PROPER NAMES
The book had something in common with both THE ILLUSTRATED MUM by Jacqueline Wilson and THE TRAVELLING HORNPLAYER by Barbara Trapido. I can’t really explain, that something in common is intangible, just a feeling or a flavour. Delight tinged with sadness. Fantasy / tragedy. You’ll just have to read all three to see if you agree with me.

And finally a brain teaser, along the lines of those posed in the “Round Britain Quiz” that used to be broadcast on Radio 4 and probably on the “Home Programme” before that:
What is the connection between writers Amelie Nothomb & John Steinbeck? I warn you, it’s a very tentative link because as anyone who knows me will tell you, I’m a devious character.

One Response to “It’s been a long time …”

  1. dovegreyreader Says:

    Now I am intrigued and I love a good quiz question


Leave a Reply

