Not just the peacock

 Many years ago I read a detective story about an Indian Inspector who becomes involved in the hunt for a missing person whilst on a visit to England. I wondered if there were any more stories about him so I went looking. If I read one Inspector Ghote book every month it would take me two whole years to read them.

The author is H R F Keating who has written many other crime books, several of them about detective Harriet  Martens. That name seems familiar. I suspect there may have been a TV or radio series at some time. Can anyone enlighten me?

H.R.F. Keating writes about Inspector Ganesh Ghote :

(in reverse date order)

Breaking and Entering 2000
Bribery, Corruption Also 1999
Asking Questions 1996
The Inspector Ghote Mysteries 1996
Doing Wrong 1994
Cheating Death 1992 The Iciest Sin 1990
Inspector Ghote, His Life and Crimes Short Stories 1989
Dead on Time 1988
The Body in the Billiard Room 1987
Under a Monsoon Cloud 1986
The Sheriff of Bombay 1984
Go West, Inspector Ghote 1981
The Murder of the Maharajah 1980
Inspector Ghote Draws a Line 1979
Filmi, Filmi, Inspector Ghote 1976
Bats Fly Up for Inspector Ghote 1974
Inspector Ghote Trusts the Heart 1972
Inspector Ghote Goes by Train 1971
Inspector Ghote Breaks an Egg 1970
Inspector Ghote Plays a Joker 1969
Inspector Ghote Hunts the Peacock 1968
Inspector Ghote Caught in Meshes 1967
Inspector Ghote’s Good Crusade 1966
The Perfect Murder 1964

2 Responses to “Not just the peacock”

  1. Simon Says:

    Breaking and Entering is a film recently released, with Jude Law etc…. but not sure if it’s the same. Sounds like a title which has been used many and oft times…

  2. Simon Says:

    Hiya Ruth – just to say, hope you don’t mind but I have reciprocated on the picture front. Did an entry on the blogs I visit, and wanted to include a few pics, hope you don’t mind me borrowing! Credited, of course.
    Simon


Leave a comment