AWOL

alibag-1.jpgalibag-2.jpg

Yes, I know. I haven’t posted for months now. I really don’t know where the time has gone. Theoretically it has been summer and I have been away for one week and then doing everyone else’s washing so they can go away and then washing it all again when they come back. The weekends have mainly been spent (in between washing) ferrying people around the M25 to drop-off points and then picking them (and their dirty washing) up a week or two weeks later.

As I have a preference for blogs with pics I have slung up an outside and inside pic of a bag I made for a good friend to wear to her eldest son’s wedding. Our children are all the  same age and we have been friends since the youngest girls were babies. She moved away and then on twice after that but still comes back to see us and drag me out for a walk and a chat. On one of those visits we went for a walk and ended up buying her bridegroom’s Mum outfit. It was quite unusual and with only a week to go to the wedding she hadn’t been able to find a bag to go with it. I’m not quite sure why I agreed but she chose several yarns from my stash and I plied them together to make something that would go with the outfit.

The bag took a while to make with a crochet dc body and a Freeform Crochet flap. then I realised that it needed lining and began to wish that I hadn’t made the flap such a freeform shape. It does have a long crocheted strap but in the photo it is tucked inside, so it could be used as a clutch or a shoulder bag. It took me most of Sunday and every non-working waking and some sleepmaking hours on Monday to finish. I had a very early lunch hour on Tuesday and popped to the Post Office on Tuesday to despatch the bag FIRST CLASS but due to the intermittent postal strike, or maybe just the usual service, thebag only arrived on Friday morning. Phew! Just in time.

2 Responses to “AWOL”

  1. Harriet Says:

    Welcome back — nice bag!

  2. http://www.empireunion.org/music.htm Says:

    Great boysf96033a8428c980167fe604c52c2a778


Leave a comment