Puffins on Parade

I thought I’d share a glimpse of some of my old puffins with you. Here they are – enjoy!
The extremely well-loved one 4th from the right on the top shelve is “The Grove of Green Holly” by Barbara Willard. The most-battered on the lower shelf is “The Wardens Niece” by Gillian Avery.childrens-books-1

childrens-books-2

I found a piece about Barbara Willard that you may like to read: “The Pleasure of Her Company – Remembering Barbara Willard” by Lance Salway.

5 Responses to “Puffins on Parade”

  1. _lethe_ Says:

    (Hopping over from Stuckinabook)

    Such a nice surprise to see two books by a Dutch author there (An Rutgers van der Loeff)!

    I have to confess that apart from “Heidi” I haven’t read any of the other titles.

    • craftypeople Says:

      _lethe_ “The Children on the Oregon Trail” was read to us, by our teacher Mrs Gerard, last thing on Friday afternoons when we were 9 or 10 and I have had a fondness for it ever since. Because I enjoyed that book so much I bought Avalanche by the same author. It was only because of that book that I heard about the Pestalozzi Children’s Village.
      Other books the same teacher read us were “One Hundred and One Dalmatians” by Dodie Smith (way before Disney got their hands on it) and “The Silver Sword” by Ian Seraillier. There must have been others but those are the memorable ones.

  2. Fran Says:

    So many of these were on my shelves as a child. Livng near Ashdown Forest brought Barbara Willard’s Grove of Green Holly to life for me. Avalanche was also a favourite. Again the Pestalozzi Village in Seddlescombe was not so far away. In Junior school we fund raised for them once a year, selling pictures of babies which were bound like a book of raffle tickets.
    The Incredible Journey was read to me on Friday afternoons aged eight; other books as well which I have forgotten. This one is remembered as it was thrown at some naughty boy, missed him and landed in the fish tank.

  3. josna Says:

    Such an evocative photo! I too loved Puffins and still have my Puffin collection, which I had the pleasure of reading to my son (and in the process enjoying them again myself as well as enjoying him enjoying them). I too read Avalanche , and The Silver Sword, and Dodie Smith’s The Hundred and One Dalmations. (I never really got the Disney version, and Cruela de Vil terrified my son when it was screened at our local library). The Dutch writer whom Puffin introduced me to was Meindert de Jong (The Wheel on the School). If you are interested, here is a link to a terrific interview with Kaye Webb, Editor of Puffin Books from 1961-1979: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p0093ww4


Leave a comment