Book Character Introductory Agency

How do you met like-minded people or even those of an opposite opinion that you could have a fine discussion with? It is no longer considered to be shameful to have to resort to an introductory agency or dating service so what about book characters? Shouldn’t they also be allowed to meet a wider range of friends and even life partners if they really get along well.

I have just started reading “Home” by Marilynne Robinson. Fascinatingly it takes the same set of characters that were in the author’s much-acclaimed book “Gilead” and, as I am beginning to find out, fills in some of the small gaps left by that volume. I was so taken by “Gilead” that I passed my copy onto a friend but now I’m wondering if I might treat myself to a hardcopy to sit alongside the copy of “Home” that I was in turn sent by someone else.

I haven’t read very far into “Home” but I am just wondering how the Boughtons would get along with the March family from Louisa May Alcott’s “Little Women” and sequels. All the parents live by a set of sometimes impossible ideals that if adopted by the world at large would surely turn it into a more pleasant place to live. The prodigal son is always welcomed and the word “grudge” doesn’t feature in their vocabulary.

Today DoveGreyReader has decided that Thebes from “The Flying Troutman’s” by Miriam Toews (pronounced Taves) should have the opportunity to hang out with Flavia deLuce from”The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie”, with the occasional addition of “Anne of Green Gables”.

So put your matchmaking or friendmaking hats on and suggest a few introductions.


Leave a comment