South Riding

Yorkshire TV 1974           Virago 2011                     BBC TV 2011

Dorothy Tutin                                                       Anna Maxwell Martin

I was lucky enough to receive a copy of South Riding with this lovely cover (middle above) from Virago and just about managed to finish reading it in time for the series that began at 9pm on Sunday.  I have memories of seeing the 1974 Yorkshire TV version with Dorothy Tutin as Sarah Burton and Lesley Dunlop as the clever but under-privileged Lydia Holly.

Maybe it is my nostalgia for the life of my family in the 1960s and 1970s that so far has me wondering if this new series will be as memorable as the old. If I had a bath, washed my hair and made sure my homework was finished before the titles rolled would I be able to recreate that warm glow that comes from enjoying watching a good TV series in good company?

Leave a comment