Treasure Trove

I’ve just spent a wonderfully calm evening with the author Rumer Godden.

I’ve just started reading the first volume of her autobiography and after my evening with Rumer I think I should read her children’s books.

One of them is called “Holly and Ivy” and the film “The Wish that Changed Christmas” is based on her book.

2 Responses to “Treasure Trove”

  1. Harriet Says:

    Lovely link — thanks. Have you read An Episode of Sparrows? I think it’s classed as a children’s book (or maybe young adult, whoever they are) but is a fantastic read whoever it is meant for.

  2. crafty people Says:

    An Episode of Sparrow is the reason that I love Rumer Godden so much. I remember hearing it on the radio (Home Service) when I was a child. It must have been 1966 or earlier as I believe we moved when my baby sister (born Jan 1964) was approx 2 years old. I know that I hear it when we lived in a village, Titchfield in Hampshire because in my head the restaurant was a particular building and I imagined the walk from there to the village church. Later I found a Reprint Society edition of the book on my parent’s shelves. The volume was blue with the dark faux leather title label that identified these publications. I really must re-read An Episode of Sparrows.

    Harriet, have you read “A Candle for St Jude” which draws on Rumer Godden’s experience as a dance teacher?


Leave a comment