How to Remember

I was doing my usual morning hop around my favourite blogs:

Dove Grey Reader, Anne Holloway, Harriet Devine, Stuck in a Book, Living with Dragons, Cornflower and finally Random Jottings where Elaine was talking about a book that would teach you the origin of weird and wonderful words. Pop over there now and have a taste of what the book she talks about is all about.

I recently had to pop into Borders to collect a reserved book for MLD (My Little Darling) and my eye fell upon a volume that had to come home with me.

ibeforee.jpg

You can see why I was tempted, can’t you? We all know ” i before e, except after c” and a few of the other handy ways of remembering important info but thanks to this book I will now also be able to remember the chronological order of the three most important Greek philosophers. All I have to do is think of them chilling out together with slices of cucumbers on their eyes being pummelled by a Swedish masseur in a SPA (Socrates, Plato, Aristotle).

Can you name the vital processes of life? Well as soon as I have a quick revision session I should have that under my belt as well. I did get Biology “0” level you know, phew I managed a science and I can still label a herring. Anyway to get back to what the book teaches you – “Mrs Gren”. In other words those VPs of life are: Movement, Respiration, Sensitivity, Growth, Reproduction, Excretion, Nutrition.

Pathetique at French? Well don’t worry, as long as you can remember the word ADVENT
you will be able to recall the main etre verbs:
Arriver-Partie
Descendre – Monter
Venir – Aller
Entrer – Sortir
Naitre – Mourir
Tomber – Rester
and the 13th verb all on its own – Retourner

Clever eh?

One Response to “How to Remember”

  1. dovegreyreader Says:

    Very clever and now I’m remembering them all including the nursing one for the twelve cranial nerves but I can’t get past Our Old Oak Tree Takes Away…? what? and even that might be wrong because we rebelled over On Old Olympus Towering Tops and invented our own.


Leave a comment