Never / Always Judge a Book by its Cover?

the-ladies-of-grace-adieu-by-susanna-clarke.jpg
I have a feeling that a great many of you will have at least seen this book even if you haven’t read it. I had no idea who the cover illustration was by until MLD (my little darling) arrived home with a book of poems by Carol Ann Duffy with this gorgeous cover …
2-selected-poems-carol-ann-duffy.jpg
The illustrator is one Petra Borner and you can see her website here. In the same series are several other covers by her
1-selected-poems-tony-harrison.jpg3-selected-poems-james-fenton.jpg4-selected-poems-roger-mc-gough.jpg5-selected-poems-sophie-hannah.jpg6-selected-poems-linton-kwesi-jonhson.jpg7-selected-poems-geoffrey-hill.jpg8-selected-poems-derek-mahon-psd.jpg
What a treat and I’m tempted to acquire them for my hoard whatever they may contain.
Why is that when books can look so amazing those ghastly metallic, pierced covers are allowed to exist.
There should be a law against ugly books and I should be allowed to be the judge of what passes for good and what should never see the light of day.

2 Responses to “Never / Always Judge a Book by its Cover?”

  1. Harriet Says:

    These are indeed beautiful covers. Make you long to buy them. I so agree with what you say and you are hereby elected book-cover-chooser extraordinaire.

  2. Lisa Says:

    These are beautiful covers. I do so love a book that is beautifully crafted outside as well as inside.


Leave a comment