Sunday Salon: Mr Pip has gone

I can’t keep up with all these erudite book reviews and I’m always terrified that anything I do write will act as a spoiler so instead I will just lay a few words on the screen / page:

simple life
fish out of water
trouble and strife
in the water
fish out of water
can life be simple?
That’s all folks – see you next Sunday in the Salon. I’ve picked up Gilead by Marilynne Robinson but I’m not sure if I will stay the course yet. It’s beautifully written and I appreciate the idea of it but I’m not sure it’s the right book for me at the moment.

2 Responses to “Sunday Salon: Mr Pip has gone”

  1. Doreen Says:

    I know how you feel. I like reading books, though, and I think there is value in everyone’s take on a book. Writing a blog post doesn’t come naturally to me but I enjoy trying.

    I can also relate to the idea of reading the right book at the right moment.

    Looking forward to reading your future posts.

  2. Harriet Says:

    I like your intriguing words — perhaps we should all start writing reviews like this. It certainly concentrates the mind and makes you think what was really important to you in the book.


Leave a comment