My Other Life

I’ve been having an exciting few days. On Friday I was interviewed by BBC TV about the 1950s textile designer, Mary White. I did some original research on her about ten years ago so they decided to ask me about her.

Then yesterday I spent the day in a “private functon” at Liberty. What a great life, sitting around in between visits by members of the press eating dainty sandwiches, strawberries and cream and later on afternoon tea.

Meanwhile Mary was being interviewed in person and on the telephone. I could get used to this sort of life.

When Mary, a freelance designer left off traipsing around to manufacturers with her huge portfolio of designs and concentrated on bringing up her children and teaching pottery she put all her unused designs up in her loft. The children grew up and when one of her sons married his wife discovered the hidden treasure and decided it shouldn’t languish in the loft. Now she runs pigletchops.com and Mary’s “lost designs” are being used on a series of men’s shirts. These are being issued in limited editions of 100 and are best described as Mid Century Modern for Men.

I spent quite a while talking to Piglet Chops proprietor, Sarah Dening and she let slip that they are about to launch an item of women’s clothing that will be just the ticket for the coming summer months. I can’t wait to find out what this new item will be because at the moment I just wish I was a man because I would have to have those shirts.

2 Responses to “My Other Life”

  1. Dawn Says:

    How great is that….do you know when it will air??? Would love to watch it.

  2. dovegreyreader Says:

    Oh you media celeb you! I bet you were brilliant, now when can we see it? Don’t you DARE not tell us!


Leave a comment