Blanket for Charlotte

charlotte-blanket-quad

I managed to make this “blanket” for Charlotte and get it to the post office yesterday, hoping that it will arrive at her house before her birthday in 2 days time,

2 Responses to “Blanket for Charlotte”

  1. Harriet Says:

    This is very beautiful. But how is it made?

  2. craftypeople Says:

    Thanks for the comment, Harriet. I suppose it is technically a wholecloth quilt. I used two pieces of white cotton sheeting that I had dyed earlier in the year. Sandwiched in the middle are two remnants of quilt wadding that I zig-zagged edge to edge to make one larger piece of wadding. The mauve pice of fabric had circular tie-dye markings so i decided to leave the circles unquilted and do random swirly machine quilting in between the circles with a fuschia-coloured thread that seemed to go well with the mauve and the pink. I bound the quilt with a double layer binding of small black and white gingham, mitring the corners and catching the double edge down to the front of the quilt by hand. I find that stage of the proceedings very calming.


Leave a comment