It’s cold oop north …

… or so I have been told. TLM (The Loom Monkey) saw the quilt I had made for MLD (My Little Darling) and proceeded to tell me why he needed a quilt more than her. Having put the finishing touches to MLD’s red, black and white quilt while we were on holiday in Cornwall I had to immediately start work on TLM’s so that he can take it back to Durham with him for year 2.

I tried to use fabric I had already so the plain fabrics were from my stash and I spent real money on the patterned purple for the sashing and borders. I didn’t quilt it much because I quite like the puffy look. I quilted through the middle of each sashing strip and in the ditch between each coloured panel.

The quilt is not as big as MLD’s which would easily do for a double bed but having run out of room in the car when we brought TLM home I think restraining the size of it is a good idea. What it lacks in size it makes up for in brightness.

2 Responses to “It’s cold oop north …”

  1. Anjie Says:

    What a lovely vibrant quilt, it took me back 15 years to when I belonged to the PTA. To raise money for the school, I thought it would be nice to make a quilt to raffle. Members of the craft committee designed a 30cm x 30cm square each, the only proviso was it had to be blue and white, I pieced it together and quilted it. It felt like a real achievement and something to be proud of. It raised a lot of money and was the start of an annual event, each year a different theme was chosen. I really like your site and I am sure my friends would too, would you like to link?

  2. dovegreyreader Says:

    Lovely! Clever you and lucky daughter.


Leave a comment